Helpful Resources

Search or browse the categories below to find valuable resources to assist in building your ideas.

Choose a Category...
Connecting & Networking

Startup Weekend Spokane
April Needham
april.needham@avistacorp.com
Website

Greater Spokane Incorporated Events
Carsen Quinnett
cquinnett@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3614
Website

Startup Spokane Events    
Megan Hulsey
Startup@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3626
Website

Inland Northwest Technologists
Zach Shallbetter
zach@uxiliary.com
509-202-6875
Website

National Association of Women Business Owners
info@nawbonw.org
509-731-3309
Website

Innovation Collective
Nick Smoot
Nick.Smoot@gmail.com
Website

Spokane Young Professionals (SYP)
Jared Webley, President
JaredW@gallatinpa.com
Website

Spokane PHP Meetup
Adam Bassett
adam@adambassett.me
Website

Spokane Python Meetup
Steve Byerly
steve@juturnalabs.com
Website

Spokane UI / UX Meetup Group
Benji Wade
Benji@workatfellow.com
Website

Spokane Entrepreneurs Meetup
Debbie Morris
info@strategicmobili.com
208-640-1331
Website

Assistance

Ignite Northwest
Bill Savitz
BillS@ignitenorthwest.com 
509-358-2025
Website

Avista Utilities
Steve Trabun
Steve.Trabun@Avistacorp.com
509-495-2829
Website

Business Resource Center – Eastern Washington University    
William Kelley
wkelley@ewu.edu
509-828-1214
Website

Greater Spokane Incorporated Economic Development
Website

Impact Washington (manufacturing)
Michael Schneider
mschneider@impactwashington.org
425-438-1146
Website

Innovation Assessment Center – Washington State University
Michael Ebinger
ebingerm@wsu.edu
509-335-7876
Website

Department of Commerce – Startup Washington
Maury Forman
maury.forman@commerce.wa.gov
(206) 256-6110
Website

New Venture Lab – Gonzaga University
Norm Leatha
leatha@jepson.gonzaga.edu
nvl.gonzaga@gmail.com
509-313-7040
Website

SNAP – Refugee Small Business Development
Karen Campbell
campbell@snapwa.org
509-456-7106 ext. 130
Website

SNAP – Small Business Development
509-456-7111
Website

Startup Spokane

Website

Startup 365 Washington

Website

Sustainable Resources Inland Northwest   
Susanne Croft
susanne@sustaininw.org
509-209-2861
Website

Technology Assistance Program – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Gary Spanner
gary.spanner@pnnl.gov
509-372-4296
Website

WA Biotechnology and Biomedical Association (life sciences)
Dr. Christiana DelloRusso
christiana@washbio.org
206.456.9560

Women’s Business Center, INW
Laurie Roth-Donnell
roth@snapwa.org
509.456.7106 ext. 123
Website

Washington Small Business Development Center

Aziz Makhani

aziz.makhani@wsbdc.org

509-335-8081

Website

Benton-Franklin Council of Governments

509-943-9185

Website

The Avista Center for Entrepreneurship

509.758.3339

Website

Tri-County Entrepreneurial Development Coordination

rblackwell@oconeesc.com

1-864-638-4210

Website

Clearwater Economic Development Association

208.746.0015

Website

Fund Local

Website

Southeast Washington Economic Development Association

Marshall Doak

Website

The Palouse Knowledge Corridor

Nathan Weller

509.334.3565

Website

Research

Community Indicators
Website

Employment Security Department – County Profiles
Website

Institute for Public Policy and Economic Analysis – Eastern Washington University
Martina Hernandez
mhernandez@ewu.edu
509-828-1204
Website

Center for Innovation – Washington State University
Michael Ebinger
ebingerm@wsu.edu
509-335-7876
Website

Spokane County Library District
Sheree West
swest@scld.org
509-893-8412
Website

Spokane Public Library
Mark Pond
mpond@spokanelibrary.org
509-444-5312
Website

Business Plan Counseling

The Women’s Business Center at SNAP
Cara Weipert
weipert@snapwa.org
509-456-7106 x.123
Website

Washington Small Business Development Centers
Tammy Everts
tammy.everts@wsbdc.org
509-358-7893
Website

Business Resource Guide
Website

WSU Innovation Center
Michael Ebinger
ebingerm@wsu.edu
509-335-7876
Website

Small Business Administration
Joel Nania
joel.nania@sba.gov
509-353-2810
Website

 

(CEDA) Clearwater Economic Development Association 

John Lane
1626 6th Avenue North
Lewiston, ID 83501
(208) 746-0015 ext 108
(208) 746-0576
jlane@clearwater-eda.org
www.clearwater-eda.org

 

Commercialization Assistance

WSU Office of Commercialization
Heidi Medford
heidi.medford@wsu.edu
509-358-7874
Website

University of Idaho Office of Technology Transfer
Jeremy Tamsen
tamsen@uidaho.edu
208-885-4550
Website

Life Science Washington
Kayla Young
kayla@lifesciencewa.org
206-829-2392
Website

Loan Programs

Northwest Business Development Association
509-458-8555
Website

Community Sourced Capital
Website

Inland Northwest Food Network
info@inwfoodnetwork.org
208-546-9366
Website

Small Business Administration (SBA)
Ted Schinzel
ted.schinzel@sba.gov
509-353-2806
Website

Rural Opportunities Loan Fund
509-684-4571
Website

SNAP Financial Access
Gary Anderson
ganderson@snapwa.org
509-456-7627
Website

Craft3 
Susan Doll
sdoll@craft3.org
888-231-2170 ext 212
Website

Business Impact Northwest
info@businessimpactnw.org
206-324-4330
Website

Angel, Venture & Early Stage Funding

Impact Capital
Judith Olsen
judith@impactcapital.org
509-456-8088
Website

Idaho Capital Ventures
208-292-2676
Website

Spokane Angel Alliance
Tom Simpson
tom@nwva.com
509-953-2989
Website

Bighorn Ventures, LLC
Tom Stoeser
toms@riverbendcp.com

Mountain Man Ventures
Nick Smoot
nick.smoot@gmail.com
Website

Seattle Alliance of Angels
Website

Boise Angel Alliance
Website

The W Fund
Chris Igielski
chris@thewfund.com
206-543-3970
Website

Markello Investments
Kevin Oldenburg
kevin.oldenburg@2ndsightbio.com

Loan Programs

Small Business Administration (SBA)
Ted Schinzel
ted.schinzel@sba.gov
509-353-2806
 Website

Rural Opportunities Loan Fund
509-684-4571
Website

SNAP Financial Access
Karen Campbell
campbell@snapwa.org
509-456-7106 ext. 130
Website

Ignite Northwest
Bill Savitz
BillS@IgniteNorthwest.com
509-358-2000
Website

Craft3 
Susan Doll
sdoll@craft3.org
888.231.2170 ext 212
Website

(CEDA) Clearwater Economic Development Association
John Lane
1626 6th Avenue North
Lewiston, ID 83501
(208) 746-0015 ext 108
(208) 746-0576
jlane@clearwater-eda.org
www.clearwater-eda.org

Health Sciences Funding

Health Sciences and Services Authority of Spokane (HSSA)
Susan Ashe
info@hssaspokane.org
509-483-5985
Website

A-4 Ventures (Health Sciences)
Susan Legget
susan.legget@rogers.com
509-315-6101
Website

Wings – Medical Technology Angels
Dr. Patricia Beckmann
patricia@medtechwings.com
206-456-9560
Website

Business Plan Competitions

Northwest Entrepreneur Competition
Sinead Voorhees
svoorhees@whitworth.edu
509-777-4606
Website

University of Idaho
George Tanner
gtanner@uidaho.edu
208-885-6475
Website

Washington State University
Marie Mayes
mmayes@wsu.edu
509-335-5628
Website

Eagle Pitch – Eastern Washington University
Bruce Teague
bteague@ewu.edu
509-828-1258
Website

Workspace/Location

Startup Spokane Central
Ryan Rodin
Coworking@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3617
Website

Buchanan Building
Rob Martinson
rob@limelyte.com
509-241-0138 ext: 101
Website

Courtyard Office Center
Spencer Sowl
Spencer.Sowl@avistacorp.com
509-495-4797

Fellow Coworking
amanda@workatfellow.com
509-596-8371
Website

The Fernwell Building Executive Suites
Debbie Lee
dlee@fernwell.net
509-252-5000
Website

Liberty Lake Portal
info@libertylakeportal.com
509-343-0103
Website

The Liberty Business Center
Shannon Ahern
sahern@spokanelibertybuilding.com
509-385-2369
Website

Kitchen Spokane    
Jayme Cozzetto
KitchenSpokane@gmail.com
509-868-7710
Website

Spokane Create!
Dan McGee
dan@spokanecreate.org       
Website

Spokane Entrepreneurial Center
509-944-0527
Website

Spokane Regional Site Selector
Wendy Smith
wsmith@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3644
Website

Regus Office Space Locator
855-400-3575
Website

Steam Plant Square
Spencer Sowl
Spencer.Sowl@avistacorp.com
Website

Toolbox 
509-981-6446
Website

Innovation Collective – IC Work
Nick Smoot
Nick.smoot@Gmail.com
Website

Crimson Commerce Club
509-332-2922
Website

Entrepreneur Training

Ignite Northwest
Bill Savitz
BillS@ignitenorthwest.com  
509-358-2025
Website

Avista Center for Entrepreneurship – Spokane Community College
Jeffrey Waybright
Mike.Allen@scc.spokane.edu
509-533-8902
Website

BIZStreet
Carsen Quinnett
cquinnett@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3614
Website

Center for Entrepreneurial Studies – Washington State University
Lael Gatewood
gatewood@wsu.edu
509-335-5319
Website

Hogan Entrepreneurial Leadership Program – Gonzaga University
Christopher Stevens
stevensc@gonzaga.edu
509-313-7039
Website

National Association of Women Business Owners
info@nawbonw.org
(509) 731-3309
Website

The Women’s Business Center at SNAP
Cara Weipert
weipert@snapwa.org
509-456-7106 ext. 123
Website

Startup Weekend Spokane
connor@barterscloset.com
(509) 731-3309
Website

Be the Entrepreneur Bootcamp

Website

License and Permits

Washington Business License Application
Website

Department of Commerce – Regulatory Roadmaps
Website

 

Incentives

Washington State Department of Revenue
Website

City of Spokane
bdsinfo@spokanecity.org 
509.625.6300
Website

Greater Spokane Incorporated Economic Development
Website

Employees

Associated Industries
Marla Fruit
mfruit@aiin.net
509-326-6885
Website

Inland Northwest Society of Human Resource Management
Website

Spokane Area Workforce Development Council     
Mark Matke
mmattke@wdcspokane.com
509-533-8470
Website

Worksource Spokane    
Michelle Sanchez
mrsanchez@esd.wa.gov
509-532-3867
Website

 

K-12 STEM / Entrepreneurship Programs

Spokane STEM
Meg Lindsay
mlindsay@greaterspokane.org
509-321-3611
Website

Gizmo CDA
Barb Mueller
Barb@Gizmo-CDA.org
208-651-6200
Website

Washington DECA
Shanna LaMar
Shanna@WaDECA.org
206-285-1195
Website

NewTECH Spokane – Entrepreneurship Program
Elisabeth Silver
ElisabethS@SpokaneSchools.org
509-354-7441
Website

Imagine Tomorrow WSU
Imagine@WSU.edu
509-335-3530
Website

Mobius Spokane
Phil Lindsey
509-321-7133
Website

Riverpoint Academy
Moleena Harris
moleena.harris@mead354.org
509-465-7900
Website

Spokane Valley Tech
Scott Oakshott
Soakshott@cvsd.org
509-228-5600
Website

Undergraduate Entrepreneurship Programs

Eastern Washington University – College of Business and Admin. – Entrepreneurship
Bruce Teague
bteague@ewu.edu
509-828-1258
Website

Gonzaga University – School of Business – Concentration in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Todd Finkle
finklet2000@yahoo.com
509-313-7048
Website

Gonzaga University – Hogan Entrepreneurial Leadership Program
Cole Kelly
KellyC2@gonzaga.edu
509-313-3402
Website

Gonzaga University New Venture Lab
Cole Kelly
KellyC2@gonzaga.edu
509-313-3402
Website

Gonzaga University – KEEN Entrepreneurship Engineering Network
George Ricco
Ricco@Gonzaga.edu
Website

North Idaho College – Integrated Business Entrepreneurship Program
Dana Mohr
dana.mohr@nic.edu
208-769-3247
Website

Spokane Community College – Avista Center for Entrepreneurship 
Jeffrey Waybright
Jeffrey.waybright@scc.spokane.edu
509-533-7391
Website

University of Idaho – Idaho Entrepreneurs
George Tanner
Gtanner@uidaho.edu
208-885-6475
Website

Washington State University – School of Business – Entrepreneurship
Marie Mayes
Mmayes@wsu.edu
509-335-5319
Website

Washington State University – Center for Entrepreneurial Studies
Marie Mayes
Mmayes@wsu.edu
509-335-5319
Website

University MBA Programs

Gonzaga University – MBA and American Indian Entrepreneurship MBA
MBA@Gonzaga.edu
509-313-7044
Website

Whitworth University – MBA 
Sinead Voorhees
svoorhees@whitworth.edu
509-777-4606
Website

Eastern Washington University – MBA 
mbaprogram@ewu.edu
509-838-1231
Website

University of Idaho – Coeur d’Alene – MBA 
emba@uidaho.edu
208-885-0550
Website

Washington State University – MBA (Online/Pullman)
Mba@wsu.edu
509-335-7617
Website

Short Reads

We scour the Internet looking for insights, instruction, tips, techniques, best practices and trends to arm you with the knowledge you need to be a successful entrepreneur or small business owner.

 

Share